When will my reflection show who I am inside?

A little Mulan to end the semester…

What was the most interesting thing you learned from a class colleague this semester? How did it change your perspective? 

I do not have a specific example of one particular classmate, they were all so insightful and each had their own magnificent opinions. We all bring our own experiences do whatever we do and coursework is no exception to that, particularly at this level. I have read a lot of great post this semester and what I learn the most is how our individual selves contribute to the whole because of our differences.

Was the content of this course what you were expecting it to be? What would you like to have spent more time learning? Less time focusing on? 

I was not sure what to expect from this class honestly. I did not really know about participatory spaces before this class. I suppose I had seen them and even used them but did not know the vocabulary behind them. The Teen Media Center at the San Francisco Public Library is a good example of this. I knew of its existence but did not know about participatory spaces until now. Anyway, I think this class was very well balanced. I feel as though it does a good job of covering what is important about this direction of special use in information centers.

What was your favorite project or reading you worked on this semester? If you had to eliminate a project or reading, what would it be? 

My favorite project was the maker faire blog post for Week 13. It really took me out of my comfort zone and gave me a neat experience to share with the class, who seem to enjoy hearing about it as well. I also really enjoyed reading Hang Out, Messing Around, and Geeking Out. It was a pleasantly easy read and a great introduction the participatory spaces.

Leave a Reply

